Skip to Main Content
the Review

Announcing DMZ's 2022 Women of the Year


DMZ's Women of the Year: 2022

This year for International Women's Day, the DMZ decided to celebrate big by putting a spotlight on influential women in tech.

Our new annual award - DMZ's Women of the year - is an esteemed list curated by the tech community to honour inspirational women within the Canadian tech ecosystem for their outstanding accomplishments and contributions to creating impact.

With nearly 600 nominations received from across Canada, this list highlights our country's most innovative women from diverse backgrounds and industries including startup founders, corporate leaders, non-profit trailblazers, and emerging youth.

A big congratulations to all of the nominees and award recipients.

Without further ado, let's dive into the inaugural recipients of DMZ's Women of the Year award.

Meet the inaugural winners of DMZ's Women of the Year

Adetoun Abby Aiyeleye

Co-Founder, Clavis Studio

Andrea Gorog

Vice President, Fusion and Risk Governance, CIBC

Andrea Matheson

High Growth Coach and Advisor

April Dunford

Founder, Ambient Strategy

Arati Sharma

Founding Partner, Backbone Angels and Co-Founder, Ghlee

Arielle Lok

Co-Founder, Peko Produce

Arlene Dickinson

Founder and CEO, Venturepark

Arya Dixit

Co-Founder and Co-CEO, WearWave

Claudette McGowan

Global Executive Officer for Cyber Security, TD Bank

Dr. Adeola Olubamiji

Founder, D-Tech Centrix Inc

Emma Kirwin

Co-Founder and CEO, DirtMarket

Erin Elofson

Head of Canada and APAC region, Pinterest

Eyitemi Popo

Program Manager, Tech Relationships at Mozilla Foundation

Fowzia Mahamed

Founder and CEO, EduCare

Jace Meyer

Executive Director, Indigenous Innovation Institute

Janet Bannister

Managing Partner, Real Ventures

Janice Fukakusa C.M.

Chancellor, Toronto Metropolitan University

Jayme Hoyte

Co-Founder and Director, SmartTerm Limited

Khushboo Jha

Founder and CEO, BuyProperly Limited

Kirstine Stewart

Chief Revenue Officer, Pex

Lucy Ho

Founder and Executive Director, Hackergal

Marie Chevrier Schwartz

Founder and CEO, Sampler

Meghan Chayka

Co-Founder and Co-CEO, Stathletes

Micheline Khan

Founder, Althea Therapy

Michelle Caers

CEO and Co-Founder of Crowdmark

Naila Moloo

Project Intern, Pond Biomaterials

Pamela Forster

Chief of Staff, LumiQ

Rebecca Rose

Co-founder and CEO, Studeo

Rola Dagher

Global Channel Chief, Dell Technologies

Roya Kachooei

Co-Founder and CEO, Walletifai

Sabrina Geremia

VP and Country Manager, Google Canada

Salma El-Yassir

Co-Founder and CEO, Womaneze

Samantha Ouyang

Founder, Superposition Toronto

Shingai Manjengwa

Director of Professional Development, Vector Institute for Artificial Intelligence

Tanya Qadir

Director of Partner Success, The Rumie Initiative

Tara Deschamps

Business Journalist, The Canadian Press

Temilola Adebayo

Co-Founder and COO of HumanSquad Inc.

Teresa Marques

President and CEO, Rideau Hall Foundation